2021 Season of Creation: What’s ahead for the final week

by | Sep 26, 2021 | Blog, News and Updates, Season of Creation | 0 comments

Christians around the world will come together for the final week of the ecumenical Season of Creation this week. The season, which started 1 September, ends 4 October, the Feast Day of St. Francis of Assisi, the patron saint of ecology beloved by many Christian denominations.

Here’s what’s ahead this week. Remember, you can view all of the Season of Creation events, including ones near you, at seasonofcreation.org/events.

GLOBAL EVENTS

Amazon, Climate Crisis, and Biodiversity: Faith and Science for the care of our common home

Ahead of two crucial United Nations summits, learn why protecting the Amazon and its incredible biodiversity is so crucial in our efforts to build a better future for all of God’s creation.

WHEN
Tuesday 28 September
10:00 Quito / 12:00 Brasilia / 17:00 Rome

REGISTER NOW

Youth voices from the frontlines of the climate crisis

Despite having little to do with the greenhouse gas emissions causing the climate crisis, young people throughout Asia Pacific are bearing the crisis’ worst effects. During this special conversation, they’ll share how they’re working to restore our common home and build a better, shared future.

WHEN
Wednesday, 29 September
8:00 Rome / 14:00 Manila / 16:00 Sydney

PARTICIPATE ON ZOOM

Laudato Si’ Movement: Prophetic advocacy in climate policy spaces

Learn how Christians are praying, taking action, and advocating for better public policy around the climate emergency and climate crisis. Find out ways you can get involved right now in your community.

WHEN
Thursday 30 September
10:00 New York / 16:00 Rome / 17:00 Nairobi / 22:00 Manila

YOUTUBE      FACEBOOK

A home and a hope for the future

United Nations Youth Ambassador Amanda Costa will lead the 2021 Season of Creation closing ceremony in which we’ll celebrate the season and push forward in our effort to care for God’s creation with hope.

WHEN
Monday 4 October
11:00 New York / 17:00 Rome / 18:00 Nairobi / 23:00 Manila

YOUTUBE      FACEBOOK

You can view all of the Season of Creation events at seasonofcreation.org/events.

More about the 2021 Season of Creation

Laudato Si’ Movement
Laudato Si’ Movement

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments