Laudato Si’ Week 2021: Everything you need to know

by | May 12, 2021 | Blog, News and Updates | 0 comments

Laudato Si’ Week 2021 is here! 

Here is everything you need to know about the crowning event of the Special Laudato Si’ Anniversary Year: how you can participate in the global events, and how you can create change on the local level and help bring Laudato Si’ to life.

All of the global events will be broadcast on GCCM’s YouTube channel. In addition, every day GCCM will broadcast a live show at 13:00 CET to highlight how Laudato Si’ is inspiring Catholics around the world. 

Locally, be sure to join an event near you, either in-person or online, to truly bring the celebration to your community.

For the latest, follow GCCM social media: Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and YouTube, and tell the world what you’re doing by using #LaudatoSiWeek #LaudatoSi6.

Laudato Si’ Week 2021 Schedule, 16-25 May

Monday 17 May Laudato Si’ Dialogue: Critical opportunities in 2021 to create change, call for an integral path
Tuesday 18 May Laudato Si’ Dialogue on Education
Wednesday 19 May Laudato Si’ Dialogue on Energy and Fossil Fuels: Global Catholic Divestment Drumbeat
Thursday 20 May Sowing Hope for the Planet / Creation Care Prayer Network
Friday 21 May Global Action Day for Our Common Home
Saturday 22 May Laudato Si’ Festival “Songs for Creation”
Sunday 23 May Pentecost Day: Laudato Si’ Special Anniversary Year Closing Praying Gathering / Missionary Sending
Monday 24 May Roundtable about WASH in Catholic health care facilities
Tuesday 25 May Laudato Si’ Week closing event, Laudato Si’ Action Platform launch

Monday 17 May

Laudato Si’ Dialogue: Critical opportunities in 2021 to create change, call for an integral path
12:00 Quito / 13:00 New York / 14:00 Brasilia / 14:00 Buenos Aires / 19:00 Rome

Learn how you and your community can bring Laudato Si’ to life and create change ahead of COP15 and COP26.

Featured speakers

Christine Allen,
CAFOD Director

Fr. Augusto Zampini,
Vatican’s Dicastery for Promoting Integral Human Development

José Gregorio Díaz Mirabal,
COICA (Amazonia)

Ditebogo Lebea,
South African Institute of International Affairs

Join the conversation below:

Tuesday 18 May

Laudato Si’ Dialogue on Education
7:00 Quito / 8:00 New York / 9:00 Brasilia / 9:00 Buenos Aires / 14:00 Rome / 20:00 Sydney

We’ll highlight universities and institutions around the world that have made Laudato Si’ an integral part of their curricula and that are using Pope Francis’ encyclical to educate the whole person.

Leaders from renowned institutions across the globe will share practical experiences about how they use Laudato Si’ to inspire students, and they’ll offer tips to other institutional leaders seeking to do the same in their part of the world.

Moderator

Amy Echeverria
(Columban Missionaries)

Featured speakers

Jacqui Rémond,
LISTEN (Australia)

Séverine Deneulin,
Laudato Si’ Research Institute

Margaret Pfeil,
University of Notre Dame (US)

Adrián Beling,
University Network for the Care of the Common Home (Argentina)

Alberto López Rosado,
Universidad Francisco de Vitoria Madrid (Spain)

Diego Solano,
RENOVA+ (Argentina)

Join the conversation below:

Wednesday 19 May

Laudato Si’ Dialogue on Energy and Fossil Fuels: Global Catholic Divestment Drumbeat
8:00 Quito / 9:00 New York / 10:00 Brasilia / 10:00 Buenos Aires / 15:00 Rome / 21:00 Sydney

Learn about the role of energy and fossil fuels in the crisis of our common home and how institutions across the globe are doing their part to create a more resilient future by following historic Vatican environmental guidelines and divesting from fossil fuels.

Moderator

Lindlyn Moma,
GCCM

Featured speakers

Cardinal Jean-Claude Hollerich,
President of COMECE

Bill McKibben,
Author and Co-Founder of 350.org

Reabetswe Tloubatla,
Denis Hurley Peace Institute/SACBC

Jeni Miller,
Executive Director at Global Health and Climate Alliance

Clare Fussell,
Diocesan Environmental Officer (Diocese of Bristol, England)

Bishop Brendan Leahy
(Limerick, Ireland)

Join the conversation below:

Thursday 20 May

Sowing Hope for the Planet / Creation Care Prayer Network
8:00 Quito / 9:00 New York / 10:00 Brasilia / 10:00 Buenos Aires / 15:00 Rome / 21:00 Sydney

Eco-spirituality brings hope to a troubled world. Join us to share in the fruitfulness of the work of Sowing Hope for the Planet. We will journey with men and women religious engaged in promoting Laudato Si’, and we will celebrate stories of ecological conversion, both personal and communal.

Moderator

Sheila Kinsey,
FCJM

Alberto Parise,
MCCJ

Featured speakers

Sr. Jyotisha Kannamkal,
SND (India)

Sr Leetta Hammack,
SSND (Paraguay)

Sr. Beatrice Hernandez,
OSF (USA)

Fr. Edwin Borlasa,
MSC (Philippines)

Christina Leaño,
GCCM (USA)

Join the conversation below:

Friday 21 May

Global Action Day for Our Common Home
A global call for individuals, communities, and institutions worldwide are invited to organise a concrete action to care for our common home.

Saturday 22 May

Laudato Si’ Festival “Songs for Creation”
12:00 Quito / 13:00 New York / 14:00 Brasilia / 14:00 Buenos Aires / 19:00 Rome

The cultural festival “Songs for Creation” will present biodiversity lost in the world and its consequences, focusing on the biodiversity problems in the artists’ and musicians’ regions.

Given the complexity of the ecological crisis and its multiple causes, we need to realize that the solutions will not emerge from just one way of interpreting and transforming reality. Respect must also be shown for the various cultural riches of different peoples, their art and poetry and their interior life and spirituality (LS 63).

During the event, the Vatican’s message for World Biodiversity Day will be spotlighted, the winners of the photo contest Laudato Si’ Moment will be announced, and winners of the Laudato Si’ Story Contest will be presented.

Featured speakers

Msgr. Bruno Marie Duffé,
Secretary at the Vatican’s Dicastery for Promoting Integral Human Development

Fr. Augusto Zampini,
Vatican’s Dicastery for Promoting Integral Human Development

Tomás Insua,
GCCM

Steven Kezamutima (Africa)

Luca Terrana (Italy)

AAIRA (Spain)

Migueli Marin
(Spain – Italy)

Gen Verde
(International)

Sandesh Manuel
(India / Austria)

Filocalia (Argentina)

Nicolas Brown,
“Last of My Kind” film producer

Mauricio López,
CELAM and CEAMA (Amazon)

Fr. Victor Moreno
(Colombia)

Join the conversation below:

Sunday 23 May

Pentecost Day. Laudato Si’ Special Anniversary Year Closing Praying Gathering / Missionary Sending
8:00 Quito / 9:00 New York / 10:00 Brasilia / 10:00 Buenos Aires / 15:00 Rome / 21:00 Sydney

The global Catholic family will make a missionary-like sending of local Laudato Si’ Animators and other faithful so that they may go and announce “the Gospel of Creation” in every corner of the globe.

Featured speakers

Cardinal Luis Antonio Tagle,
Prefect of the Congregation for the Evangelization of Peoples

Msgr. Domenico Sorrentino,
Bishop of Assisi-Nocera Umbra-Gualdo Tadino

Join the conversation below:

Monday 24 May

Roundtable about WASH in Catholic health care facilities
5:30 New York / 6:30 Brasilia / 6:30 Buenos Aires / 11:30 Rome / 17:30 Sydney

Following the publication of the document Aqua fons vitae, the Vatican’s Dicastery for Promoting Integral Human Development is pleased to provide an update on its WASH project (access to drinking Water, Sanitation and Hygiene) in a selected number of health care facilities belonging to the Catholic Church.

Featured speakers

Cardinal Peter K.A. Turkson,
Prefect of the Vatican’s Dicastery for Promoting Integral Human Development

Damiano Guzzetti,
Bishop of Moroto in Uganda

Sister Adela Orea,
a Daughter of Charity of St. Vincent de Paul

Dr. Giulia Amerio, Associazione Comunità Papa Giovanni XXIII

Sr. Liberty “Beth” Elarmo,
General Council of the Sisters Ministers of the Infirm of St. Camillo de Lellis

Miss Lindsay Deny,
GlobalWater 2020

Mr. David Douglas,
Waterlines & GlobalWater 2020

Mr. Tebaldo Vinciguerra,
Vatican’s Dicastery for Promoting Integral Human Development

Join the conversation below: Link to join will be available soon

Tuesday 25 May

Laudato Si’ Week closing event and Laudato Si’ Action Platform launch

Catholics across the globe will unite one final time during Laudato Si’ Week to learn about the Laudato Si’ Action Platform, a Vatican-led effort to empower Catholic institutions, communities, and families to implement Laudato Si’ in the decade ahead.

Join the conversation: Link to join will be available soon

Jonathon Braden
Jonathon Braden

Writer
Nebraska, USA
Jonathon Braden has more than 10 years of writing and communications experience. He seeks to tell LSM’s story.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments